Skip to content

Vale Nelson Mandela

December 9, 2013
Click on this image to go to the Youtube clip that features Johny Clegg with Nelson Mandela

Click on this image to go to the Youtube clip that features Johny Clegg with Nelson Mandela

I wasn’t shocked when the news of Nelson Mandela’s death reached me. I had been expecting it for a while. I was far from a computer, tv or radio but I learned through word of mouth about mid-day on Friday and I heard that every bulletin was broadcasting the sad news. Such was the regard that this man was held in Australia and around the world.

It didn’t really hit me until I saw this music clip and saw Nelson Mandela smiling and dancing. So much mystery in that smile. Deep emotion – a lot of hope and faith.

When I saw him and heard him speak, heard the simple wisdom in his wordsI felt such sadness that he has gone. I cried and I don’t often cry, but he was of those people on this planet who had something of infinite importance to share – he shared everything that is positive about humanity to overcome everything that is negative about humanity.

I don’t think you have to be an expert on Nelson Mandela’s life his achievements or shortfalls to feel what he stood for.  At this time while a funeral cortege is passing through the South Africa so his people can mourn and pay respects, I am glad that a friend shared this video like an online funeral cortege so I could mourn and remember Nelson Mandela.

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

